The Rosary is believed to have been given to St. Dominic by the Blessed Virgin and the Dominicans have been instrumental

through the centuries in promoting the Rosary.  The stained glass window above is part of the Dominican Windows

 in the Cathedral's  Blessed Sacrament Chapel and depicts the moment when St. Dominic received the Rosary. 


The word Rosary itself comes from the Latin rosarium, meaning Rose Garden and the rose is often associated with Mary. 

By the 16th Century the major components of the modern Rosary were established -

the Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be as well as the 15 Mysteries and 5 Decades were all part of  the Rosary devotion. 

The Salve Regina and Apostles' Creed were added later. 


 On October 16, 2002, Pope John Paul II introduced 5 new mysteries known as the Luminous Mysteries or Mysteries of Light. 

Click Here to view the Pope's Apostolic Letter on the Rosary.



Promises of the Rosary How to Say the Rosary Prayers of the Rosary



Home ~ Our Parish ~ Ministries ~ Parish School ~ Religious Education ~ Bulletin
Our Parish Mission
We, the parish of Saint Agnes Cathedral, a community of believers, proclaim the presence of Christ in the

world through Word, Sacrament and deeds.  Affirming the sanctity of each person, we minister to all
by committing ourselves to renewal, formation, and living the Gospel. 

   © Copyright 2019 ~ All Rights Reserved

NOTE: Many of the documents on this site require Adobe Reader©. Download for free from
Parish of Saint Agnes Cathedral
29 Quealy Place
Rockville Centre, NY 11570
Directions | Contact Us